Vegan Chickpea Salad

Vegan Chickpea Salad #veggieangie

Happy Monday friends! I hosted a playdate yesterday for my niece Lillian and my friend Jessica’s daughter. They are only a few months apart in age and were so adorable together. We spent the afternoon playing with toys, looking at books, drawing with chalk, and listening to music. I put together a lunch menu for my lovely guests including fresh fruit, white bean hummus dip, these chickpea salad sandwiches, zucchini chocolate chip cookies, sticky buns, and watermelon drink. I realize now how much of a photo-op I had on my hands yesterday, but I enjoyed just spending time with everyone and not worrying about my camera. I know there will be lots of playdates and picnics in my future!

Vegan Chickpea Salad #veggieangie

Vegan Chickpea Salad
Makes 6-8 sandwiches. Easy, vegan, and gluten-free!

· 2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
· 2 tbsp vegenaise
· 1 cup red seedless grapes, cut in half
· 1 cup hamburger dill chips (pickles), chopped
· 1 cup walnuts, chopped
· 1/2 cup raisins
· 1/2 cup green onions, diced
· salt and pepper to taste

Chickpeas #veggieangie

Directions: Puree the chickpeas and vegenaise in a food processor or mash with a fork. Mix in the remaining ingredients. Adding 1 tbsp additional vegenaise if you’d like a creamier constancy. Spread on your favorite bread or wrap and enjoy! I used Sundried Tomato Bread and Southwestern Tortillas, but feel free to use any bread or wrap you’d like. You can also cut this recipe in half if needed, but the chilled leftovers are just as delicious!

Vegan Chickpea Salad #veggieangie

These sandwiches are perfect for packed lunches, picnics, and potlucks. I took a plate of sandwiches over to my friends Ryan and Jenn’s house last week for Ryan’s surprise birthday party. I got a lot of great feedback from the hostess and party guests. Today is actually Jenn’s birthday, Happy Birthday Jenn! I dedicate this recipe to you, it made me so happy that you liked these sandwiches enough to ask for the recipe. Here you are, I hope you enjoy it and have a wonderful birthday!

Vegan Chickpea Salad #veggieangie

I originally saw the idea for chickpea “tuna” sandwiches in the Sunny Days in Texas Zine. I’ve slowly changed the recipe over the years and I’ve finally got it just the way I like it. Feel free to modify my version to suit your own taste. This recipe is also perfect for any upcoming 4th of July party you are throwing or attending. I love vegan food that’s easy to make and share.

Vegan Chickpea Salad #veggieangie

Have a wonderful week!

xo angie

This entry was posted in Gluten-Free, Savory Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vegan Chickpea Salad

  1. theveganmuffinwoman says:

    This looks wonderful!

    Like

  2. I just made my own version of chickpea salad tonight! I love how chickpea salad is so versatile—and delicious! :)

    Like

  3. Eat No Harm says:

    This looks great! I have to try it.

    Like

Leave a comment